Main Menu

Explore More

District recognizes four National Merit Semifinalists

District recognizes four National Merit Semifinalists

The West Bloomfield School District is proud to announce that four West Bloomfield High School students have been named semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. The district’s 2021 semifinalists are Audrey Gunawan, Mahmood Khattab, Shayl Pokle, and Amulya Setlur

Audrey Gunawan is the daughter of Madeleine and Sukiwi Gunawan. She is interested in studying biochemistry at the University of Michigan after high school. Audrey is Student Government President, Model United Nations Head Delegate, and Orchestra Concertmaster. She is also the founder and president of the GIDAS Research Club. 

Mahmood Khattab is the son of Razan Bitar and Nidal Khattab. He is interested in studying biomedical engineering and going to medical school after high school. He is applying to University of Michigan and Michigan State University. Mahmood is President of MSA, Activities Chair of Chem Club and Student Representative of HOSA. 

Shayl Pokle is the son of Surekha and Sachin Pokle. He is interested in studying engineering or medicine after high school at the University of Michigan or Michigan State University. Shayl is a member of HOSA, Chem club, Stocks club, and the National Honor Society. 

Amulya Setlur is the daughter of Shamala Narasimhan and Raghavan Setlur. She is interested in studying medicine after high school and becoming a neurologist. Currently, she is considering University of Michigan, Northwestern University, Johns Hopkins University, and Dartmouth College as she continues her education. Amulya is involved with the Chemistry Club, Biology Club, and HOSA at WBHS. 

The district is also proud to recognize the three WBHS students who were announced as Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. Those students are Kylie Roth, Aayush Shah, and Raksha Sridharan.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT)–a test which serves as an initial screen of more than 1.5 million entrants each year–and by meeting published program entry/participation requirements.